It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Family & Friends of the Mentally Ill Message Board

• HELP PLEASE - Bi Polar Girlfriend

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 10-02-2006, 04:13 AM   #1
    benny-T
    (male)

benny-T HB User
    HELP PLEASE - Bi Polar Girlfriend

Hey everyone.

This is my first time here and I'm hoping I can get some help or better understanding of everything that is happening at the moment.

I started going out with my girlfriend (20) about 3 months ago. We had been friends for 2 years and went out on the occasional date but it wasn't until she had a drug overdose and we started spending alot of time together that we started realised how much we liked each other.

I found out within about 2 weeks of going out with her that she had been diagnosed with bipolar.

She has made some really big changes to her life in the last 3 months. She changed her phone number and got rid of all her friends as she wanted a clean start after she overdosed.

We have done alot of weekend stuff together like camping, fishing, dirtbikes etc. and I have introduced her to new good people who have some direction in life.

She lives back at home with her parents now and she is either there or at mine.

We joined the gym together and go there regularly.

She has had 2 jobs in the last month. The first one only lasted a week as she couldnt handle the pressure (i guess from not having worked for 2 years) and the second job which she really liked she unfortunately lost due to returning staff member who she was meant to be replacing.

Lately she has been getting depressed. She sleeps in till around 12 or 2 pm everyday and trying to wake her is like waking the dead.

She was diagnosed with bi-polar proably 8 months ago and I know she is on eppilim, zyprexa and effexor.