HealthBoards

HealthBoards (https://www.healthboards.com/boards/)
-   Family & Friends of the Mentally Ill (https://www.healthboards.com/boards/family-friends-mentally-ill/)
-   -   need advice on dealing with bipolar neighbor (https://www.healthboards.com/boards/family-friends-mentally-ill/770526-need-advice-dealing-bipolar-neighbor.html)

meep591 09-29-2010 07:22 PM

need advice on dealing with bipolar neighbor

This is my first time on this site. I came here because I need advice on dealing with a neighbor who is also the parent of one of my childrens' close friends. This neighbor is a bipolar woman. I have never dealt with bipolar before, but want to guide my children in dealing with what had become a very bad situation.

I was friendly with this woman and our children were close for about year. They seemed like very nice people. Things started to change about 6 months ago. This neighbor started getting very nasty toward one of my children and the changes in her tone and the things she said were subtle but alarming. I noticed her son beginning to get physical when he argued with my daughter. I tried to set limits on the time they spent in our home and this made them furious.

Me trying to set limits set off 6 months of hell involving threats to kill me and my daughter, stalking, physical and verbal confrontations, lies and gossip to other neighbors that I still haven't been able to get through. It was awful and I had to involve police and the local court to get her to stop harrassing us. Now, all of a sudden she seems to have changed. She seems to be a bit more considerate and aware of her harrassing type behavior. Her child is acting normal again, and my children want to friends again.