It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Fibromyalgia Message Board

• Requip experience?

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 06-21-2003, 02:22 PM   #1
    la_brat
    (female)

la_brat HB User
    Post Requip experience?

Our youngest daughter has just started taking Requip (ropinirole hydrochloride). It is a dopamine agonist. Anyone else on or were on this medication? What has been the experience?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 06-21-2003, 02:59 PM   #2
    Jenetti
    Senior Veteran
    (female)

Jenetti HB User
    La brat,

was she given this for fibro??

I just looked it up and it said it was for parkinsons disease, for tremors. Did she get a diagnosis for fibro? What exactly were her symptoms, of course im no doctor, but just curious as to why they would prescribe this for fibro. I dont think ive heard of it being given for fibro before, i might be wrong of course.

Jen

Old 06-22-2003, 08:23 AM   #3
    la_brat
    (female)

la_brat HB User
    Requip is a parkinson's medication as is mirapex. A doctor in Renton Washington has used mirapex with some success on fibro patients and is now using Requip with some good results. His name is Andrew Holman and he is a rheumy who presents papers at almost every rheumy confab on his studies which are all self-funded, by the way. The daughter has seen him once and the doctor keeps in touch with our rheumy who was one of his professors and his mentor in the past. Now it is the other way around.

What Requip is supposed to do is help relieve tremors by effecting the pathways in the nervous system. Dr. Holman believes that these pathways are what causes the pain, trembling, fatigue, ect. in fibro. He hopes that the medication will relieve the over-reaction that a fibro body has to stimulous and make it more normal in its response. We can only hope that this is true to even a small degree. As is often said here, all things do not work for all people.