It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Fibromyalgia Message Board

• Lyrica worsened symptoms- anyone else?

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 03-16-2009, 05:55 AM   #1
    NWRae
    (female)

NWRae HB User
    Question Lyrica worsened symptoms- anyone else?

I am new to board so not sure if this has already been asked or not. I was diagnosed with Fibromyalgia over 10 years ago. Tried different things for pain and flairs and was actually finding a balance with lifestyle changes, eating better, limiting exercise to no more than 15 minutes at a time to let muscles rest before doing something else, finding healthy ways to de-stress, etc.
    Then a little over 2 years ago we got re-ended at a red light. Anyway, between new pain, stress, etc my Fibro flares started getting worse. The doctor tried putting me on Lyrica and it felt like my skin was on fire, and seemed to amplify the pain. He wanted to try a lower dose but that didn't help either. Flares lasted longer and were actually worse the two months I was trying Lyrica and for a few weeks after I stopped taking it. Any one else had similar experience with it?? Did they find anything else that helped if Lyrica did not help.
    For those who have had Fibro for any length of time, you definitely can tell the difference between new injury pain and a flare. Pain sucks in general but you usually can get some kind of relief through traditional medicine and they don't completely kick your behind. So I know the Lyrica actually was causing my Fibro to flare worse and harder.
    Rae

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 03-16-2009, 10:03 AM   #2
    Ishla
    (female)

Ishla HB User
    Re: Lyrica worsened symptoms- anyone else?

Hi NWRae,