It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Fibromyalgia Message Board

• LONG POST re: Biofeedback

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 01-22-2010, 02:45 PM   #1
    untouchableme
    (female)

untouchableme HB User
    Post LONG POST re: Biofeedback

***Please note: I am not a Psychologist, Occupational Therapist, Physical Therapist, MD, nor do I work as a Biofeedback Technician. I'm a woman who has been diagnosed w/ FMS amongst other things and am sharing some of what I learned recently while enrolled in a multi-disciplinary pain management program. Someone asked for a little more info on this topic so here it is. If it helps even one person that's fantastic! If not I urge that whatever you do in your quest to take back your life from FMS, please never, never, NEVER give up***

One note of caution if you opt to try BF - Pay attention to how many breaths you take in one minute. I believe the average adult breathes anywhere from 12 -20 bpm (breaths per minute) while at rest, and it is dangerous to go too low, although the number probably varies somewhat based on different factors. Personally, I'm 42 years old, 5'2", 115lbs with a history of respiratory illnesses. While learning BF, I went from taking 32 bpm's to 5 bpm's and was told by my technologist that it could be dangerous to go under 6 bpm's. A website I found from the health systems of Virginia stated that going below 10 could be considered abnormal.(?) Bottom line, use common sense and If you feel yourself getting a headache, feeling dizzy or any other adverse reactions, just slowly try to increase your respiration a little.

As always, it's a good idea to check w/ your physician before trying any new therapy.

Biofeedback is the practice of using machines to monitor certain body functions. The theory behind it is that by being able to see what your body is doing, you can gain some control of functions previously thought to be involuntary.