It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Foot & Ankle Problems Message Board

• Calcaneus Fracture and Outcome

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 08-09-2015, 06:26 PM   #1
    Islander777
    (male)

Islander777 HB UserIslander777 HB UserIslander777 HB UserIslander777 HB User
    Calcaneus Fracture and Outcome

Right calcaneus fx on 7/23/15. Surgery on 7/31/15. Booted 8/7/15; non weigh bearing until further notice. Staples come out 8/14/15.

Pain was horrible until after surgery. Now, I am fine. I hate the boot, and having to use my knee scooter/crutches.

BUT- the knee scooter has made me able to get out of the house with my family for trips to the store, or just to walk outside! It has been a large part of maintaining my sanity.

I have been released to go back to work, still non weight bearing, on 9/8. I am a classroom teacher.

After hearing all of the horror stories from my doctor the day of the injury, I had no idea I would be in my right mind and functioning 16 days after the injury.

Yes, I have a long way to go. BUT, I COULD HAVE BROKEN MY BACK, or other bones, still be hospitalized, be in tons of pain....

Some rough days are still to come, I am sure. Look for the positive, people.

TIME and NON WEIGHT BEARING ARE THE KEYS!!!!!

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Islander777 For This Useful Post:
    MEllen59 (08-13-2015),Wendy1949 (08-31-2015)
    Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-12-2015, 07:24 PM   #2
    Tigers1852
    (male)

Tigers1852 HB UserTigers1852 HB UserTigers1852 HB User
    Re: Calcaneus Fracture and Outcome