It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Foot & Ankle Problems Message Board

• Rheumatoid and foot surgery

• Post New Thread   Reply Reply
    Old 03-14-2016, 03:05 PM   #1
    RA fighter
    (female)

RA fighter HB User
    Thumbs down Rheumatoid and foot surgery

Hello

I am new to the health boards but am looking for people who have had, or may have surgery on the foot. I
    My Right foot is a mess. I can only wear tennis shoes now which I hate. Walking is even painful with those on lately. My foot severely pronates and is completely flat. My surgery option is ... correction planovalgus with hindfoot midfoot fusion, calcaneal osteotomy, ankle ligament reconstruction, possible midfoot osteotomy, ankle arthroscopy, posterior release.

Has anyone had this and what is your experience with it.

Thank you

Last edited by RA fighter; 03-14-2016 at 03:10 PM.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 03-14-2016, 07:00 PM   #2
    islandbeachgirl
    (female)

islandbeachgirl HB Userislandbeachgirl HB Userislandbeachgirl HB Userislandbeachgirl HB User
    Re: Rheumatoid and foot surgery

RA fighter,
    Welcome! I had a tendon repair , tendon transfer and calcaneal osteotomy surgery four weeks ago. It is a very long recovery and is quite painful for the first week.. You will need lots of help for the first 2 weeks. I have just started back to work this week. Thought I would go back after two weeks but that wasn't happening. I am too early in the recovery process to know if it was worth it but so far I say yes. I still have to elevate my feet above my heart for several hours a day. They swell a lot. There are lots of great ideas and advice on this site. Hope this helps.
    Islandbeachgirl

The Following User Says Thank You to islandbeachgirl For This Useful Post:
    RA fighter (03-17-2016)
    Old 03-17-2016, 01:54 PM   #3
    RA fighter
    (female)

RA fighter HB User

Island Girl