It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Foot & Ankle Problems Message Board

Flat Foot Surgery and returning to work 6-8 weeks post-op

Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-18-2018, 03:03 PM   #1
wadelle2
(female)

wadelle2 HB User
Flat Foot Surgery and returning to work 6-8 weeks post-op

I will be having flat foot surgery the last week of June. I can't rattle off all the surgery details but it will involve Cotton's procedure, Achilles tendon lengthening, two bone grafts, maybe heel repositioning. I am a full-time community college instructor, so luckily I'll have 6 weeks of summer break before I need to return to work. I'll have plenty of down time and help those 6 weeks at home. My concern is returning to work. With the timeline I'm looking at, I'd have 6 weeks home then spend weeks 6-8 post-op back at work full-time but will be in meetings and trainings those first two weeks back (so mostly sitting). The semester starts when I will be 8 weeks post-op, and I will then need to return to the classroom full-time. I teach in a computer lab environment with standing instructor stations, so I do need to be up. I will have a tall chair I can sit on sometimes during lectures, but a good part of my day is standing and moving. I need to get around the room to assist students, but I will have a fantastic teaching assistant to help me while I heal. I will be on a knee scooter.

I worry about swelling, pressure on my "good" right foot (which is also flat, but not as bad as my left) which is going to have to do all the work while I stand/knee board, mobility (how in the world do I get around/carry stuff, etc.,) and general exhaustion.

Does my timeline sound do-able? Any tips/advice to manage a work day while healing welcome!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 05-18-2018, 03:48 PM   #2
Georgia chicken
(female)

Georgia chicken HB User