It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Foot & Ankle Problems Message Board

• Post-op calcaneal osteotomy, etc. HELP!

• Post New Thread   Reply Reply
    Old 05-11-2022, 12:04 PM   #1
    vette599
    (female)

vette599 HB User
    Exclamation Post-op calcaneal osteotomy, etc. HELP!

I am a critical care RN (most of my background is is cardiopulmonary issues, so I'm not very familiar with ortho problems!) and I work 12 hour shifts in an ICU/CCU. The work is very physically demanding.

I started having pain in my left ankle in the summer of 2019. I walked on my foot until the pain was pretty much unbearable, because of the hospital's desperate need for staff throughout the pandemic, and had surgery to repair it on November 4, 2021. Prior to my surgery, I had to wear a walking boot for ~2 months for pain control, just to be able to work.

My surgery included: posterior tibial tendon repair, flexor digitorum longus tendon transfer, spring ligament repair, medial displacement calcaneal osteotomy with internal fixation, open medial cuneiform wedge osteotomy with bone graft, gastrocnemius recession.

I'm six months out and the pain and swelling I have are, in my opinion, unreasonable. Pre-op, my surgeon made it sound like I would be back to work light duty at 10 weeks and back to work full duty, as an RN in the unit, at 12-16 weeks. I have not been able to meet any of those milestones. I went back to work light duty at 12 weeks and full duty at 18 weeks. I elevate and ice this ankle as much as possible, and my physical therapist even gave me a lymphedema pump to use at home, which I use for an hour each night. I wear compression socks almost 24 hours a day, as well as supportive tennis shoes and custom orthotics when walking. I am taking 1,200 mg of gabapentin a day, in addition to ibuprofen 800 mg three times a day.