It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Foot & Ankle Problems Message Board

• Unsympathetic coworkers-Bunion Surgery...

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 12-05-2003, 11:43 PM   #1
    DoggieMom
    Inactive

DoggieMom HB User
    Unsympathetic coworkers-Bunion Surgery...

Tonight I went to a work party and realized that the people I work with MUST be thinking negatively about me. I am getting a bilateral bunionectomy in a week and am TOTALLY afraid, totally nervous... but yet, the people I work with are seemingly unsympathetic towards my situation. I am a teacher, on my feet all day, and felt that I needed to get this done now. Yet, my co-workers don't seem to understand the pain I am in and do not understand how serious an operation this is. Has anyone else out there experienced apathy from others concerning this? They all seem to think that bunions are humorous and wanted to SEE what they looked like! It was awful! I was so embarrassed! They thought it was funny that I was going to take off a month from work... yet my bunions cause so much pain that my weekends are spent at home, trying to recuperate from my week of working on my feet!
    Anyone experience similar?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 12-06-2003, 10:01 AM   #2
    snodove
    Senior Veteran
    (female)

snodove HB User
    Re: Unsympathetic coworkers-Bunion Surgery...

Hi,
    I am having bunion surgery to the end of Dec. I stay at home but still when I tell people sometimes they make you feel " what is the big deal." Or they say I thought that was just a little bump on the foot. Dud. I know at night alot lately my foot hurts so bad and feels funny. Can't explain it and if I am on my feet alot then it is worse. Sometimes the pain is up to my knee.