It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Foot & Ankle Problems Message Board

• Army Special Forces Officer - Lisfranc club

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 06-22-2004, 08:36 AM   #1
    matterhorn762

matterhorn762 HB User
    Army Special Forces Officer - Lisfranc club

Hi all. Looks like I'm joining your elite club here. I suffered a Lisfranc injury on May 29th as a result of a bad landing on an airborne jump. I'm an officer with 4 years experience in the Marine Corps and currently going through Army Special Forces training. On June 10th I had my first foot surgery and had 2 screws and 4 pins put in my right foot. I didn't think the injury was THIS bad, as I still walked away from my jump carrying over 100 pounds of gear and didn't see a doctor for several hours.

Although my profession is a bit different, I have the same questions and concerns as all the rest of you here. I have only one plan, and that is to return to my regular military duties as soon as I'm healed and to be 100%. I need to return to my training course, which is one of the toughest in the U.S. military... I had hoped to return to the one starting in mid-November (5 months post-op) but I'm seeing now that may not be realistic. The next course is late February (8 months post-op) and that may be more realistic. After my Special Forces schools I still have to go to Ranger school, which does not allow for real boot inserts to be worn, and that is a concern for me.

I've gone through this before, with a right ACL surgery when I was still in the Marine Corps. I was told 9 months recovery time and within 4 months I was running 20 miles a week. I have not had any complications since then (4 years ago). So I know I recover fast, I'm motivated, and my body is in a healthy shape.

I will keep you all updated here on my progress. For now, I have a few questions: