It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Foot & Ankle Problems Message Board

• Bunion Surgery 8 Weeks Post Op Update

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 09-24-2005, 05:47 AM   #1
    roz5
    Veteran
    (female)

roz5 HB Userroz5 HB User
    Bunion Surgery 8 Weeks Post Op Update

Well, I am officially 8 weeks post op from my bunion surgery (right foot; big toe cut and straightened with permanent screw; bunion removed; bone spur removed). At my 6 week post op appointment, my podiatrist had told me to wear more supportive shoes at school (I am a teacher) for 2 more weeks. She suggested sneakers, which I have tried wearing off and on throughout the day, however, they tend to hurt my foot a bit more where the top of the shoe rubs the incision. She also told me to get on the treadmill and work my way up to 30 minutes (adding 5 minutes each day). I have done all that and must say that my foot is more painful and is swelling more now than it was a few weeks ago. The outside of my ankle is especially swollen.
    I almost feel as though I am going backwards in my recovery. Additionally, the range of motion in my toes is still not good. I am trying to stretch them daily, but they will only stretch so far. I do have an appointment to go back to my podiatrist in 2 weeks, after which I think she intends to "release me", provided I am fully recovered.
    I guess I'm just a bit frustrated here and do realize that the recovery is long road. I never was a patient person!!

Last edited by roz5; 09-24-2005 at 05:48 AM.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 09-24-2005, 01:33 PM   #2
    Suni321
    (female)

Suni321 HB User
    Re: Bunion Surgery 8 Weeks Post Op Update

Roz - glad to hear from you - wondered how going back to school was going. Sorry to hear your feet are still having trouble.