It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Foot & Ankle Problems Message Board

• Esacerbated Symptoms Post Steroid Injection

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 01-19-2006, 08:18 AM   #1
    findingmeg
    (female)

findingmeg HB User
    Exacerbated Symptoms Post Steroid Injection (Ankle Joint)

I have been working with a podiatrist for two months to find the cause of foot and ankle pain that has plagued me for 6-7 years. I do have a history of frequent ankle sprains and have personally referred to my right ankle as "weak" in the past.

Initially, the podiatrist felt that my foot symptoms were consistent with a neuroma, and was pretty close to recommending surgery. However, I added that I also had pain shooting from mid-foot to each side of the ankle, and he recommended a bone scan to see if there was more to the story.

The bone scan was positive. It showed mild uptake in both the right and left mid-foot, but severe abnormalities in the right ankle joint. As a side note, I should mention that he also ordered blood work to test for arthritis. The results indicated that I was undergoing "mild changes"...not enough to explain this level of pain and discomfort, much less give a diagnosis of arthritis.

Feeling that it was possible I may have synovitis in that joint, he injected a stereoid into the joint seven days ago. He mentioned that, should the steroid not eliminate or help the symptoms, he would want to take detailed x-rays and, should he not find anything, he would likely order an MRI. I should note here that previous x-rays *were* performed before the bone scan, but were of the foot (as that's what I pointed to and said "Ow").