It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Foot & Ankle Problems Message Board

• hallux limitus, heel pain and running

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 06-05-2008, 10:16 PM   #1
    ann38
    (female)

ann38 HB User
    hallux limitus, heel pain and running

Hi All,

I am new to the Health Board and am hoping to get some advice from people who have been there, done that. Here's what I have going on. About a year ago I went from running/jogging 5-6 miles daily. I've been running for the last 15 years or so and have never had any issues. Last year the back of my heels started hurting. I rested, did ice therapy and stretching. I had orthotics made and tried to get back to running after 2 months. When I started back the same problems occurred. I sought help from a foot and ankle ortho who looked at my x-rays and all he said was that I had some bone spurs but he didn't see anything else. He left me feeling like I was exagerating my pain. So I went from him to a podiatrist. The pod told me that I have bone spurs and you know running is really not that good for you. He sent me away with a prescription for anti inflammatories, which made me retain water. I went back to him for a follow up but nothing else was discussed just that this is the way it's going to be. I went to one more pod, one a friend recommended, and he diagnosed me with hallux limitus with complications. The hallux limitus is causing the heel cord to stretch to the limit causing pain over my heel. We had orthotics made and said they might help for 6 months or 6 years it just depends on the person. I've had the orthotics in for 2 months and they do help with every day movement, walking and such but am still unable to run. It's getting to where if I walk for too long my feet start aching. I'm so frustrated because I have never had any problems before, I'm relatively young, 38, and running was my refuge. I could do it anywhere, anytime, and i