It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Foot & Ankle Problems Message Board

relief from TTS from custom orthotics?

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-20-2008, 09:06 AM   #1
Pickle Eyes
Senior Veteran
(female)

Pickle Eyes HB UserPickle Eyes HB UserPickle Eyes HB User
relief from TTS from custom orthotics?

Hi, I am new to the Foot Board, but not HealthBoards.

I was diagnosed with Tarsal Tunnel Syndrome this past week. My podiatrist fitted me for orthotics which should be in within 2 weeks. My question is, has anyone had relief just with orthotics?

He also prescribed Lyrica, but I'm reluctant to start it. I'm not in a lot of pain - just constant awareness of discomfort. It gets worse later in the day or if I go barefooted. So I am reluctant to start meds for something that could cause me to have a seizure if I go off of it.

Has anyone had relief from TTS just from custom orthotics?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 12-20-2008, 05:25 PM   #2
taape
Senior Veteran
(female)

taape HB Usertaape HB User
Re: relief from TTS from custom orthotics?

I've had it for years and got some injections to bring down the inflammation. I never needed or was offered orthotics until recently being diagnosed also with plantar faciitis. I'm also not in a lot of pain from Tarsal Tunnel, not enough to take medication for it. Have taken anti inflammatory meds in the past. I don't have hot burning nerve pain from the Tarsal Tunnel, it is more edge of the heal pain. Once in a while for me it feels like when your foot falls asleep and then wakes up.

The plantar faciitis on the other hand is killing me with pain but I still don't want to take nerve pain medication. There's too many side effects.

What do your orthotics look like? Are they made to support your arch or heel?

Last edited by taape; 12-20-2008 at 05:25 PM.

Old 12-21-2008, 02:33 PM   #3
geggar
Inactive
(male)

geggar HB User