It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Foot & Ankle Problems Message Board

• anyone used a knee walker?

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 12-05-2009, 01:36 PM   #1
    whpstickagostop
    (female)

whpstickagostop HB User
    anyone used a knee walker?

I am looking into renting a knee walker to increase my independence after my ankle surgery. I am a graduate student and I walk to school (it's a little less than a mile). I figured with the knee walker I could still take myself to school and not have to rely on people to give me rides. My boyfriend is concerned that the sidewalk conditions will make me hate it and that it will be uncomfortable (I live in downtown atlanta). I just seriously need to find an affordable alternative to crutches.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 12-05-2009, 06:17 PM   #2
    Pegret
    (female)

Pegret HB User
    Re: anyone used a knee walker?

a mile is a pretty long way. But that being said, it is a huge long way on crutches. I use my knee walker in and around the house and office. You cannot do any more than one step with the knee walker. For 2 to get into my home I need help. I was warned to use it for limited time because of the possibility of blood clots. Outside, beware of rocks and holes. I love the knee walker, but am hesitant to recommend it for distance. A wheel chair might be better, but then you still have the curb/step problem. Good luck.
    Peg

Old 12-05-2009, 09:39 PM   #3
    Zerk
    Senior Veteran
    (male)

Zerk HB UserZerk HB UserZerk HB UserZerk HB UserZerk HB UserZerk HB UserZerk HB UserZerk HB UserZerk HB UserZerk HB UserZerk HB User

I couldn't imagine using a wheelchair for a mile. But then again, you would be surprised, what you can do when you have to. I had regular walker, probably even toughter then the wheel chair.

Giving yourself plenty of time, and in good shape, who knows. I would take a practice run, when you won't be late.