It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Foot & Ankle Problems Message Board

calcaneous fracture walking time after surgery

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-11-2011, 12:32 AM   #1
cribadib
(male)

cribadib HB User
calcaneous fracture walking time after surgery

Im 30 and have a serious calcaneous fracture on my left foot. I did it on a rope swing and landed hard crushing the bone really bad to the point where they werent even sure if it was operable.. great news on a sunday arvo as im a contractor in the building trade which has had to come to an immediate hault..

this happened , then was told its really bad , i'll get arthritus by the time im 40 to 45, wont walk on un even ground very well and i'll probably have some degree of pain my whole life!! what a sunday...it was extremely painful and i was on some many pain killers it wasnt funny.. morph drip, ketamine drip,,, millions of tablets.. oxyconten, tyranadol, gabapentin, endones ...

so after 10 days in hospital the swelling goes down, the huge fracture blister had popped .. it went from tiny the first day to around 3 ish inches long and at least an inch out.. big blister!.. but they operated for more than 4 hours and the surgeon was happy with the outcome..a plate and so many screws later...

i spent another 5 days in hospital and went home with a cast.. was the most furstrating time of my life.. i had also broken my left arm so was finding it difficult to get around.. and i was on a 4 week course to weine me off all the drugs i was on had to get a skateboard and string to pull my coffees to the couch when my wife was at work!!