It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Foot & Ankle Problems Message Board

• Questions about tendon transfer surgery for foot drop?

• Post New Thread   Reply Reply
    Old 01-31-2013, 10:36 PM   #1
    thoward2
    (female)

thoward2 HB User
    Questions about tendon transfer surgery for foot drop?

Hello everyone! This is my first time ever on this site, so I'm not quite sure how to use it, but I'm going to try my best.

So first off, let me tell you about my foot drop. When I was about 6, first grade, I was diagnosed with Transverse Myelitis. After being in the hospital for a few months and several years of therapy I have made a full recovery, the only main problem left is my foot drop. I don't wear braces anymore, not because I don't need them, but they were kind of embarrassing during my middle school years. The foot drop does not cause any pain in my feet and I can walk fine, it just doesn't look that great considering I can't pull my foot up very much. I've been heavily considering tendon transfer surgery to make my walk a little more "normal".

Has anyone had this surgery with similar foot drop? A lot of people I've seen that have gotten this have newly developed foot drop and they have difficulty walking. Also if you have had it, would you recommend it? Do you think it would cause pain later on? I would also be moving the tendons that allow my foot to push down because they're very strong, how much would that effect my ability to push down?

Any help with this would be greatly appreciated!
    Thanks!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 02-01-2013, 03:57 AM   #2
    PesCav
    Veteran
    (female)

PesCav HB UserPesCav HB UserPesCav HB UserPesCav HB UserPesCav HB UserPesCav HB UserPesCav HB UserPesCav HB UserPesCav HB UserPesCav HB User
    Re: Questions about tendon transfer surgery for foot drop?