It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Foot & Ankle Problems Message Board

• Upcoming Peroneal Tendon surgery

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 10-28-2013, 08:07 AM   #1
    Redhead54
    (female)

Redhead54 HB User
    Unhappy Upcoming Peroneal Tendon surgery

Hi. I'm new to healthboards

In short, MRI in September revealed I've torn both tendons in the right foot as well as having a partial tear in the anterior talofibular ligament (all damage done, I think, when I tripped over a shoe back in April). Having surgery to repair the tendons in a little over a month and just looking for info from someone who's had similar surgery as to what to expect post-surgery re: managing pain. Surgeon says I'll be in a splint for 2 weeks, followed by 4 weeks in a cast or boot and then will start PT at about 6 weeks. First six weeks will be totally non-weight bearing (I have a feeling that will be challenging).

Last edited by Administrator; 01-21-2014 at 06:28 PM.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 10-28-2013, 08:15 AM   #2
    LASassy
    (female)

LASassy HB UserLASassy HB User
    Re: Upcoming Peroneal Tendon surgery

Hey, Red. I didn't have your particular surgery, but had the same recovery protocol. Assuming you will be non weight bearing (NWB) during the splint and cast days, those days WILL be quite a challenge. Go to this link for the "stickies" on the recovery topic. Lots of useful info there. http://www.healthboards.com/boards/foot-ankle-problems/
    It definitely pays to be prepared. It seems like forever at the time, but....

The following user gives a hug of support to LASassy:
    Redhead54 (11-19-2013)
    The Following User Says Thank You to LASassy For This Useful Post:
    Redhead54 (11-01-2013)
    Old 10-28-2013, 06:32 PM   #3
    ibabug
    (female)

ibabug HB Useribabug HB User

Hi!