It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Foot & Ankle Problems Message Board

Pain following PTTD surgery

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-27-2014, 08:40 AM   #1
Legs11
(female)

Legs11 HB User
Pain following PTTD surgery

Hi everyone! First of all I would like to say I have enjoyed reading posts related to my situation and have found Healthboard to be a friendly and supportive environment.

I developed ankle pain back in September while on vacation after doing a lot of walking. I work in retail sometimes 9 hours a day on my feet. I went back to work but soon realized I was going to have to address my problem with a foot and ankle doctor. I was signed off for six weeks and out in a boot for four followed by PT. Still had a problem with slight pain after standing for 4 hours. So my doctor said he thought I had a cyst which had not shown up on the MRI done six weeks earlier. He advised surgery. I had surgery to remove a cyst. However there was no cyst. He said I had a varicose vein wrapped around the tendon which he removed. He also opened up the sheath around the tendon and injected amnion and my own plasma platelets. Originally my doc said I would be non weight bearing for two weeks then in a boot for four. Then I would be able to return to work. At my 10 day check up following surgery he said I would be non weight bearing for four weeks followed by pt. Still on track for returning to work six weeks after surgery.