It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Foot & Ankle Problems Message Board

• Timing of foot and Achilles surgery, both legs

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 03-31-2014, 08:56 PM   #1
    WeizEgg
    (female)

WeizEgg HB User
    Timing of foot and Achilles surgery, both legs

I have had issues with my left foot for as long as I can recall and never new it could be fixed. I've also been overweight since my early 20s and over the last few years lost 50 of 120 lbs I needed to loose. In 2012 I started training for a 5k and started having issues with my right ankle. Within a few months I noticed a lump at the back of my heal and had that lovely morning after pain the day after a run. I tried to ignore it, rested a bit, changed things up. Decided to try training for one of those muddy obstacle courses and was well on my way to being able to get all the way through a mudderling work out! Then one day my ankle just said, nuh uh, you do that again and I'll take you out!

So, off the the dr I went and was told retrocalcaneal bursitis, no exercise and off to PT for a few months. Stay off, no exercise, til no pain. At best we got the pain to a bearable level and I started back up with my personal trainer. Then I experienced swelling of my right ankle and this time the doc said oh, bone spur not bursitis. This is supposed to be a podiatrist. Decided to follow his conservative treatment again, stayed off ankle again for two months. Swelling went away and original pain got much better and was cleared to resume routine. Pain started right up again.