It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Foot & Ankle Problems Message Board

• Recovery after FDL transfer and calcaneal osteotomy

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 08-15-2014, 09:37 AM   #1
    Leedspecks65
    (female)

Leedspecks65 HB User
    Recovery after FDL transfer and calcaneal osteotomy

Hi there
    I see some members have also had this procedure. I would really like some advice.

I had the operation 9 weeks ago today, was in not-weight bearing cast for 6 1/2 weeks and have been in an air cast boot for 2 weeks(full weight bearing!1). I went to my first physio appointment on Wednesday and she said until I had been in the boot for 5 weeks she couldn't do anything, is this correct?
    She is only planning to start on 5th September.

I am a secondary teacher and was due to start back at school on Monday 1st Sept. Is this a likely possibility? Which is 2 weeks on Monday.

I am anxious to get back to normal but am not sure what is and isn't possible and don't want to damage the repair.

Ideas and help please

Hop a long
    x

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-16-2014, 08:30 AM   #2
    Suze81
    (female)

Suze81 HB User
    Re: Recovery after FDL transfer and calcaneal osteotomy

Quote:
    Originally Posted by Leedspecks65 View Post
    Hi there
    I see some members have also had this procedure. I would really like some advice.

I had the operation 9 weeks ago today, was in not-weight bearing cast for 6 1/2 weeks and have been in an air cast boot for 2 weeks(full weight bearing!1). I went to my first physio appointment on Wednesday and she said until I had been in the boot for 5 weeks she couldn't do anything, is this correct?
    She is only planning to start on 5th September.

I am a secondary teacher and was due to start back at school on Monday 1st Sept. Is this a likely possibility? Which is 2 weeks on Monday.