It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Foot & Ankle Problems Message Board

• Plantar Fasciitis exhausted options!!

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 09-15-2014, 09:25 PM   #1
    kaybella
    (female)

kaybella HB User
    Unhappy Plantar Fasciitis exhausted options!!

I was diagnosed with plantar fasciitis in 2008. It started in my left foot after an injury to my right foot. After a while, I was in an incredible amount of pain all the time. Since then, I have endured hours of physical therapy that seemed to make things worse, cortisone shots (on two separate occasions), shock therapy (the ultrasound thing), icing, massage, night splints, custom supports, and the most recent, an air cast with partial immobility coupled with oral steroids for 6 days.

The thing is, I'm 28 years old and not overweight...really quite average. I work 45 hours a week and i'm on my feet all of those hours. I'm a college student currently taking the semester off to progress treatment (I'm a law enforcement major). My doctor does not want to perform surgery because he thinks I'm too young, my desired profession requires mobility at all times, it might cause more damage, or it might not work and so he's offered me this last ditch option.

Tomorrow morning, he is administering a cortisone shot and then placing my foot in a cast. A permanent cast for three weeks. He said he wants absolutely no mobility because there is a severe amount of inflammation. He compared an x-ray from 2009 and now and I couldn't believe how large my heel spur has gotten. I understand that the spur itself does not cause pain, but it's definitely much larger than it was five years ago.

However, I was wondering if anyone has had the same treatment and if it worked for them? He told me it has a 90% success rate. If that's the case, why have i gone five years in chronic pain that could have been alleviated in just three weeks?