It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Gallbladder Message Board

• New to board with questions about gallbladder removal surgery!

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 06-01-2007, 10:09 PM   #1
    tanya0543
    (female)

tanya0543 HB User
    New to board with questions about gallbladder removal surgery!

Hi all,
    My name is Tanya. I was recently diagnosed with gallbladder dysfunction and I'm going to see a surgeon on Monday to talk about having my gallbladder removed. I had a couple of questions about the surgery for those of you who have been through it. First of all, a little bit about myself. I have been suffering from severe acid reflux and bloating for a year now. I recently about a month ago started having pain in my right side under my ribs along with the bloating and reflux. It has gotten progressively worse by the week. This past Sunday, the pain sent me to the ER at the hospital where I work as a Certified Nursing Assistant. The doctor in the ER told me that I probably had a bad gallbladder and told me to come in for a ultrasound on the following Tuesday since Monday was Memorial Day. By Monday night, I began vomiting. Everytime I ate anything, I vomited and had severe pain. I went in to have the ultrasound on Tuesday and no stones were present. I went to my PCP on Tuesday afternoon and a HIDA scan was scheduled for Thursday. I went in for the HIDA scan and had the same severe pain and nausea after the injection of CCK. My ejection fraction was 27% so today, my PCP made me an appointment with the surgeon on this coming Monday. Not soon enough. I'm still in alot of pain and have nausea and vomiting everytime I try to eat anything. Even boiled chicken caused an "attack" this evening. My PCP gave me Lortabs and Phenegren for the pain and nausea. My questions are, do you have to have a full system clean out before surgery. i.e. taking all the laxatives and stuff, or, are you just told to