HealthBoards

HealthBoards (https://www.healthboards.com/boards/)
-   Gallbladder (https://www.healthboards.com/boards/gallbladder/)
-   -   Diarrhoea after Gallbladder Removal (https://www.healthboards.com/boards/gallbladder/744152-diarrhoea-after-gallbladder-removal.html)

bexley 04-12-2010 09:17 AM

Diarrhoea after Gallbladder Removal

Hi all, newbie here. 23y/o female.

I had my gallbladder removed about 18 months ago - had been having attacks for around 10 months, but their severity increased in the last few weeks before my (emergency) surgery - turns out I had a massive infection in there!

About 6 weeks after the operation, I developed painful cramps on my lower left hand side, and frequent diarrhoea. 9 months of daily diarrhoea later, I persuaded a doctor to prescribe me Questran, which worked almost instantly, and I've been taking it ever since.

Initially, I was on one packet per day, and just before Christmas I had to lower the dose to half a packet because of constipation.

Now I seem to be heading back to the cramps and diarrhoea but also intermittent constipation, and I'm not sure what to do. I've stuck to a low fat diet, I don't drink alcohol any more, I do gentle exercise every day.

Has anyone else had a similar experience? My doctor insists that the cramps are caused by anxiety (which is nonsense) and is therefore of no real use.

I'm supposed to be going to university in September, but there's no way I can go back if I go back to how I was before - I literally couldn't leave the house.

I really thought I'd got it sorted, and now I'm terrified it's coming back :(

Any suggestions of help would be really appreciated.

SAHMof2 04-12-2010 09:34 AM

Re: Diarrhoea after Gallbladder Removal