It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

General Health Message Board

• HELP ME! Brain tumour???

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 02-08-2005, 01:53 PM   #1
    generalzod1979
    (male)

generalzod1979 HB User
    HELP ME! Brain tumour???

Please help me because I don't know what to do. I'm a 25 year old teacher, male. Ok? Pleeaze help.

About a week ago, I started getting headaches that were specifically concentrated in the left hand side of my head, around by my temple and upwards. However, they're not your typical headaches. They were sharpish and were usually of the 'stabbing variety' so there would be a pause before a second jolt of pain and so on. Admittedly, they weren't particularly painful but more annoying and they varied in their frequency. They would sometimes come and go after fifteen minutes and appeared to respond to painkillers. For instance, I had two "sets" of these headaches in the cinema whilst seeing a film.

But, by the weekend, things were worse as I began to wake up with the damn things. Everyone around me was saying "it's just stress," but, hey, I'm not stressed about anything, and, besides, it isn't that 'kind' of pain. I talked to my pharmacist before giving the NHS medical people a call on Saturday and they suggested it might be worth visiting my opticians to see if I needed stronger glasses. Hmmm.

But, yesterday morning, I thought "bugger this," after waking with another headache. Off I went to the doctor, 9am. She didn't appear to take my complaint particularly seriously, and simply took my blood pressure and examined my eyes. "It sounds like a muscular thing," I was told. Right. Thanks doc. She also suggested a visit to the optician. So, I went to the opticians today and, yes, I do need stronger glasses, but the optician said my eyes were healthy and could find no cause of why headaches would occur.