It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

General Health Message Board

• Is this a flare?

• Post New Thread   Reply Reply
    Old 04-21-2013, 11:56 AM   #1
    anna0n1
    (female)

anna0n1 HB User
    Is this a flare?

I was diagnosed with indeterminate colitis in July 2012. I had severe diarrhea, 10-15 times a day. A colonoscopy was done and biopsies tested. My doctor is leaning more towards UC. It took 4 months to feel normal again. I am new to the message board, I am having symptoms of a flare I think but they are different. I cannot pass stool no matter how hard I try. (Ive tried fiber, laxatives, enemas, stool softeners and change in diet.) I have lower abdominal pain and horrible pain in the upper right abdomen that radiates to my back. Could this be a sign of a flare?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 04-21-2013, 01:51 PM   #2
    ladybud
    Senior Veteran
    (female)

ladybud HB Userladybud HB Userladybud HB Userladybud HB Userladybud HB Userladybud HB Userladybud HB Userladybud HB Userladybud HB Userladybud HB Userladybud HB User
    Re: Is this a flare?

UC usually affects the rectum and descending/sigmoid colon causing diarrhea like you had before. I would wonder if you are having gallbladder trouble, with RUQ pain radiating to back. The lower abdominal pain may be from the constipation. Have you had intolerance to fried or greasy/fatty foods? I would see your Dr as this sounds unlike a flare of UC. You probably need an ultrasound of abdomen and some blood tests done.

Old 04-22-2013, 03:53 AM   #3
    anna0n1
    (female)

anna0n1 HB User