It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Hair Loss / Alopecia Message Board

• Ferritin at 19, suffering hair loss :(

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 09-22-2013, 07:22 PM   #1
    kristie-6
    (female)

kristie-6 HB User
    Ferritin at 19, suffering hair loss :(

I have been noticing hair thinning for about 2 years and went to see doc 1.5 years ago and she did a blood test and said my vitamin D was low so to take it. I have been doing that. Hair was still thinning. About three months ago I noticed pretty chronic fatigue, went to see gyno two months ago and she ordered blood test, came back with slightly low platelet count. I noticed this and went to see my regular doc and she said no prob, just slightly low and should be fine. I told her about my fatigue and she ordered more blood tests, did not tell me to take anything. I started taking iron on my own about 6 weeks ago, was only taking the regular daily dosage (25mg Gentle Iron Byglisincate or whatever you call it), hair was still thinning, still tired. Noticed more hair thinning about a month ago, yikes! I already have very thin fine hair. YIKES. Went back to doc, now very annoyed, said my hair is falling out and I am tired. She did more blood tests and almost as an afterthought said, "oh, maybe we should also check your ferritin, yea lets check that". She calls back a few days later and says the level is 19 and to just take iron daily (did not tell me how much, what kind, did not advise me of what not to take with it that would negate absorption), and to eat iron rich foods and come back in three months for another blood test. This was about three weeks ago. I have doubled up on the iron taking 100 mg of the daily along with vitamin c and. I called the doctor back and said I wanted my level retested at the month mark because I my hair is still falling out YIKES and I want to know if this darn iron is getting absorbed, she said she does not