It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Hair Problems Message Board

• Rogaine-hair shedding after 8 months

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 04-21-2009, 04:55 PM   #1
    Marlo503
    (male)

Marlo503 HB User
    Unhappy Rogaine-hair shedding after 8 months

Hello everyone, thank you for taking the time to read my question.

I have been using Rogaine 5% Foam twice daily for about 8 months, starting in mid august of 2008. I have been applying it to both the top and front of my scalp--I know that is has not been proven to regrow hair at the front, but I had been received a lot of comments from friends saying they noticed positive results there.

About a month ago I began noticing strands of hair on my hands when washing my hair, and when applying the Rogaine Foam. I have since done some research and read that Rogaine does cause shredding, but normally within the first 3 weeks to a month of initial usage. To my knowledge I never experienced/noticed any shedding during that period, but currently I am shedding a little bit of hair everyday, and my hair does look thinner than before in the front section of my scalp.

My question is, is it normal for Rogaine to cause Shredding this far into treatment? Further more, does the fact that my hair is shredding mean that the rogaine is not working?

Since the shredding started, I have resorted to washing my hair once a week, and only allowing it to get wet on the days I wash it. This has left my scalp rather itchy, but my girlfriend said that it's better to wash only once a week...Anyone know if that is true??

Again thanks for taking the time to read, I look forward to hearing your thoughts

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 04-26-2009, 11:25 AM   #2
    lov1254
    (female)

lov1254 HB User
    Re: Rogaine-hair shredding after 8 months