It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Headaches & Migraines Message Board

• Is it Migraine or Tension Headache?

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 04-20-2007, 02:32 AM   #1
    Haushinka29
    (female)

Haushinka29 HB User
    Is it Migraine or Tension Headache?

Hullo......newbie here from the UK.

I've been a headache sufferer for about 6 years, and an initial diagnosis of "common migraine" (due to severity of acute attacks) was later changed to "chronic tension headache syndrome" (due to unrelenting dull headache for days on end).

I've compared symptoms, and having treated my headaches as tension related for at least 4 yrs, I'm wondering if they aren't actually migraines after all. But what do I know? These are the symptoms;

Sudden onset with no warning, OR onset triggered by exercise/over exertion/acute stress
    Intense throbbing pain on one or both sides, often centred behind one eye and worsened by movement
    Nausea and sensation of heat
    Some sensitivity to light and smell

Painkillers alone have little effect, whether taken when the attack is developing or after it has taken hold. Naratriptan had no effect at all, although Paramax (paracetemol with a nice sleep-inducing anti-histamine, bliss) was quite good. I can only get that on prescription though, and I've no desire to waste my time on bl**dy doctors anymore. I haven't tried anti-inflammatories for tension headache, as most painkillers apart from paracetemol just make me feel even sicker. I was also prescribed the beta blocker Propanalol as a preventative measure - this has been helpful in reducing the frequency of the attacks, but has not changed their severity.

So.....what's the verdict, do you think? Migraine or tension headache? Any effective over the counter remedies (bearing in mind I am in the UK) that involve no doctors?

Your opinions, comments and suggestions are welcomed! Thank you!

H

Sponsors Lightbulb