It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Healthcare Professionals Message Board

• to become a Nutritionist

• Post New Thread   Reply Reply
    Old 08-14-2016, 09:58 PM   #1
    DoodleBob
    (male)

DoodleBob HB User
    to become a Nutritionist

Hello, first time on the forums.

I hope this question hasn't already been answered..

So I am currently a mechanical engineer and apparently unhappy about my job. I recently began experiencing anxiety symptoms (almost daily) and random panic attacks every so often. This has been going on for a few months, so I guess it's technically not a disorder yet.
    A few days ago, I decided to take a Myers-Briggs personality test just for kicks.
    As it turns out, my personality type (ENFJ) should avoid a career like engineering! It could cause me to burn out and even experience anxiety.
    The personality profile fits me almost spot on.

So I began searching around for careers that fit me personality-wise.
    Nutritionist was one of them.

I was wondering, since I already have a B.S. in Mechanical Engineering, if I could/should even pursue a Nutritionist Certification?
    Or do I need to get a second B.S. degree in nutrition?

Last edited by DoodleBob; 08-15-2016 at 12:00 AM.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-15-2016, 03:59 AM   #2
    MSNik
    Senior Veteran
    (female)

MSNik HB UserMSNik HB UserMSNik HB UserMSNik HB UserMSNik HB UserMSNik HB UserMSNik HB UserMSNik HB UserMSNik HB UserMSNik HB UserMSNik HB User
    re: to become a Nutritionist

Doodlebob,
    If you want to get a job as a certified nutrionist, you would need a degree in this field. Many hospitals require a master's degree in Nutrition; but not all jobs require the masters degree.