It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Hearing Disorders Message Board

• Problems from stapedectomy I had on 5/17/13

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 05-28-2013, 07:32 AM   #1
    darlinglady28
    (female)

darlinglady28 HB User
    Problems from stapedectomy I had on 5/17/13

Hi guys, newbie here! I have otosclerosis and had the stapedectomy done on 5/17. I'm 11 days post op now and still very dizzy. How long did yours last if at all? My first few days were terrible. I couldn't move because of the dizziness and nausea. It's better now, but I was hoping I'd be back at work this week, but there's no way, and my employer isn't very happy with me. I have to move painfully slow to get around. I also have tinnitus now, and I didn't have it before the surgery. It started 2 days ago. Just a small ringing. I'm also hearing weird small clicking noises in my ear? Don't know what that's about. No hearing improvement yet either, but
    I've been reading that it took some of you months so I've decided not to worry about that yet. Also, I have the weird taste on my tongue on my operated side. I know this is normal. How long should I expect it? Thanks in advance!!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 06-03-2013, 05:47 PM   #2
    urb
    (male)

urb HB User
    Re: Problems from stapedectomy I had on 5/17/13

Hi there - I'll answer based on my personal experience, but keep in mind that everyone reacts differently to the surgery. My dizziness lasted about a week. The weird taste in my tongue lasted a very long time (over a month). Heck, it lasted so long that I probably got used to it and don't even know whether I got my regular taste buds back at all!