It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Hearing Disorders Message Board

• Newbie here with a question looking for answers

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 11-13-2013, 07:40 AM   #1
    SicknTired777
    (female)

SicknTired777 HB User
    Newbie here with a question looking for answers

Good morning all,

I hope this post finds you all feeling well today. I am an almost 34 year old woman with a diagnosis of undifferentiated connective tissue disease. I was 1st giving the diagnosis of lupus, but after a negative lupus specific test I was given the undifferentiated connective tissue disease. I have chronic fatigue, polymyalgias, swollen hot joints especially in hands, hair falls out sometimes, butterfly rash in the sun, and one time after being exposed to strep (when I was initially diagnosed) I broke out in a plague like rash from head to toe. About a week ago my hearing was totally normal and then I lost total hearing in my right ear. I can't even hear a tuning fork. The doctor said he believes it is sensorineural hearing loss and sent me for a brain MRI. Has anyone ever lost their hearing from an auto-immune disease? I was exposed to a sick child again right before this happened. Could this have caused an attack on my ear? Has anyone been successful in getting their hearing back after this kind of diagnosis? I was initially put on a Medrol Dosepak, but now will be taking prednisone 10 mg once a day for 30 days. I am scared that I won't ever be able to hear normally.

Thank you for your time.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 11-13-2013, 07:48 AM   #2
    solofelix
    Senior Veteran
    (female)

solofelix HB Usersolofelix HB Usersolofelix HB Usersolofelix HB Usersolofelix HB Usersolofelix HB Usersolofelix HB Usersolofelix HB Usersolofelix HB Usersolofelix HB Usersolofelix HB User
    Re: Newbie here with a question looking for answers

Hi,