It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Hearing Disorders Message Board

• Stapedectomy surgery report

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 11-11-2014, 08:38 AM   #1
    katalholt
    (female)

katalholt HB User
    Stapedectomy surgery report

Hi all!
    This is my first time posting, but I thought I'd give my report on my stapedectomy to see how it compares.

I had mine done on Friday (11/7) and I think everything went really well! I didn't get a chance to speak to my doctor before I was discharged, but my husband spoke to her and said everything was good. She did say my stapes was longer than normal for my height (?) and so they had to use a slightly longer prosthesis than anticipated. Anyone ever have that?

As for the surgery, I was under general anesthesia, and I'm really glad because it seems to be a trend that folks who go in under local only have vertigo more often, at least that's what I've noticed in reading these forums. But I woke up from the surgery, had very mild pain. Mostly my hand hurt from the little chunk they took to anchor the prosthesis. But I was allowed to go home after napping a few hours and getting up to take a walk without dizziness. I was only a bit groggy from the anesthesia.

I was home and pretty much on bed rest for the first day and a half. Just didn't want to risk doing too much. And that seems like it was a good choice, because I'm pretty much feeling normal again physically. I have had some bad tinnitus, though. The second night after surgery, I had a loud screeching ringing in the operated ear that kept me up all night. Thankfully that has subsided. But I'm still having some ringing and pulsatile tinnitus in the operated ear. But I had both occasionally before surgery anyway, so it's bearable.