It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Heart Disorders Message Board

• Can Toprol XL mask a more serious heart problem?

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 11-13-2003, 09:40 AM   #1
    KATIE25

KATIE25 HB User
    Question Can Toprol XL mask a more serious heart problem?

Hi! I am a 25 year old newbie to this site. My cardiologist has me on 100mg of Toprol XL (50mg am and pm) because I have a fast resting heart rate (140 bpm). I have had several test to look for structural problems and all have returned normal. I am now wearing a 30 day event moniter to try and determine what my episodes are. My cardio suspects runs of SVT, but none have been caught on the EKG. My hubby has caught my pulse in the 160-190 range on several occasions, but by the time the EKG is hooked up, it has fixed itself. ( Big Surprise! ) My PCP thinks they are only panic attacks and I should with my cardio's approval gradually stop the Toprol. My PCP put me on Lexapro daily and Xanax for these episodes. My PCP says that a resting heart rate of 140 isn't that fast, but I must disagree. I live with it, he doesn't . Long story short, can the Toprol be masking (slowing down) these runs of SVT, such that the event moniter is futile? My resting heart rate is now down to around 70, and I have only had to trigger the moniter about 5 times in 28 days and those were at best minimal episodes, and most likely panic attacks. I haven't had the racing heart/fainting/chest pain deals since my Cardio upped the Toprol to 100 from 50, 2 weeks before I got the event moniter. I am also on Lotensin HCT 20/25 for high bp, if it matters. Also, is 100mg a day, a high dosage of Toprol? My PCP seemed to think so. Thanks in advance for your help!
    Katie

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 11-25-2003, 10:42 PM   #2
    PeacedogUK

PeacedogUK HB User
    Re: Can Toprol XL mask a more serious heart problem?

Hi Katie,