It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Heart Disorders Message Board

• Heart Palpitations

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 03-04-2005, 05:06 AM   #1
    jmackey

jmackey HB User
    Heart Palpitations

I've been looking on the internet and have seen many people talking about situations very similar to mine but none that were exactly the same, so here's basically what's going on with me:

-Starting about a week ago I started having sudden fast heart beats, and had a strong "feeling" of the heart pumping. I later learn these are called "heart palpitations."

-I've felt similar sensations before during stressful (as in physically stressful) times but never "coming out of nowhere." After living with these palpitations on and off for a day and getting pretty nervous I go to a doctor (in this case campus health as I'm a college student and its free.) The doctor there listens to my heart and takes my blood pressure.

My blood pressure is good (120 something over something IIRC) according to her and my pulse is slightly elevated (110 bpm.) She says that this is somewhat high but not high enough to worry about. I do exercise (I am overweight, but try to combat that on and off) and have a heart rate monitor so I know that 110 is a good 30 beats faster than my normal resting heart rate.

Anyways she says there is nothing abnormal about the beating so I should be fine. I go home and calm down for a few days.

I have the palipations still but it's very occasional, like briefly (always right before I go to bed though, without fail.)

Anyways come that Friday I decide to enjoy myself and engage in some drinking, come home and drink a good amount of Dr. Pepper (last caffeine drink I've had, and I've decided I won't consume caffeine ever again.)