It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Heart Disorders Message Board

• rapid pulse and dizzyness

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 03-08-2003, 07:42 AM   #1
    Lisasv1

Lisasv1 HB User
    Post rapid pulse and dizzyness

I'm a 36 yr old and weigh 115-120 5'5" who has a very high pulse.
    Everytime I go to the doctor it's around 128 beats per second after waiting in the waiting room nearly an hour.
    Occasionally I'll check it at Rite Aid for free and it's always extrememly high.
    I've checked it first thing in the morning when I wake up and usually find it to be around 100.
    I get dizzy spells a lot, especially if I work as a dental assistant. It's not physical exhertion, but perhaps a little stressful. When I walk around Seattle or the park, I sometimes get so dizzy I feel I'm going to faint. Even the slightest physical exhertion makes me extremely dizzy. I haven't fainted yet, but felt like I was pretty close as times.

My doctor put me on antidepressants and told me it's anxiety attacks, but I'm sure it's from my high pulse rate. None (and I've tried several types) of the antidepressants and none have helped.
    I'm also anemic. I've been anemic all my life, and no matter how much iron I take, it doesn't help. It's due to Thlassemia (mediterranian disease), I only have the beta thlassemia trait so my doctor doesn't think it's anything sagnificant. but it does make me always anemic.

Occasionally, I'll get this sharp pain in my lung or heart and have to take small shallow breaths since if I take a large breath it hurts really bad! My aunt told me it's heartburn so I considered it not important.

Does anyone think I should see my doctor regarding my high pulse rate? Whenever I go in for an exam, they check my blood pressure and pulse but have never commented on how high it is.