It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Heart Disorders Message Board

• Plavix and Ibuprofen

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 12-22-2008, 12:35 PM   #1
    Brendap
    (female)

Brendap HB User
    Plavix and Ibuprofen

I am new to Plavix, having just had a bare metal stent put in my RCA 3 weeks ago. I haven't even had my followup check up with the Cardiologist yet.

I read the drug flyer with Plavix and see the drug interaction warnings. My question is, will an occasional ibuprofen be harmful on a very limited basis? My back is giving me problems and I know just a couple of ibuprofen or even one a day would be such a help until it calms down.

Tylenol doesn't help. I could wait until my consult with the Dr., but in the mean time I have read many informative posts on this board, and I am curious if any of you on Plavix have used an occasional ibuprofen in a pinch.

I am a 66 year old female in otherwise good health.

Thanks, Brenda

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 12-22-2008, 03:25 PM   #2
    Connie122516
    Veteran
    (female)

Connie122516 HB User
    Re: Plavix and Ibuprofen

I haven't touched Ibuprofen since my stent was put in 4+ years ago...my doctors were all very insistent that I avoid the stuff (and I have subsequently read some things on my own that make me think my frequent use of it pre-stent may have helped cause my blockage).

Personally, I'd recommend you discuss with your doctor first...

I have learned to use Tylenol...there are some stronger, quick release versions of it now that work just as well as the ibuprofen (though you could never have convinced me of that pre-stent).

Old 12-22-2008, 10:41 PM   #3
    harka
    Senior Veteran
    (male)

harka HB Userharka HB Userharka HB Userharka HB Userharka HB Userharka HB Userharka HB Userharka HB User

Quote:
    Originally Posted by Brendap View Post