It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

High Cholesterol Message Board

• Concerns, Worries, Scared!

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 03-28-2005, 03:49 PM   #1
    Anxiety Man
    Senior Veteran
    (male)

Anxiety Man HB User
    Unhappy Concerns, Worries, Scared!

Hello-

I'm new to this portion of HealthBoards. This is a section that I thought I would never be posting in, but recent news of having a high LDL has brought (scared) me over here!

My LDL was 160. The Dr. had me try Zocor. On the 3rd dose, I had nausea hit 3 hours after taking it, then lots of acid indigestion and gas. I have had periods of inner ear muscle spasms known as myoclonus. That had not acted up in a long time, but after the 3rd dose of Zocor, I had a flutter & boom noise hit my rt. ear at 4:00a.m., next a.m. I have read more bad than good, about the statins on this forum when I was lurking.

I called and talked with the nurse this a.m., and she is supposed to get back to me on what he thinks. I am very sensitive to medicine and it's side effects, way too sensitive. I don't know what he will say, but I asked her about going at this with diet, more walking exercise, taking Garlique, eating salmon, the usual cholesterol-fighting foods.

I had a person tell me today that my 160 is dangerously high and I am in grave danger of a heart attack and stroke! Great! That made my day, and my last name isn't even Eastwood!

Should I be scared witless, or not? The worry over this could alone cause a heart attack or stroke! My last cholesterol count a few months ago was fine. It either shot up on me, or the Dr. suddenly thinks it's too high. I'm pretty down and out now, and feel like a ticking time bomb.

Thanks~

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 03-28-2005, 04:35 PM   #2
    JJ
    Senior Veteran
    (female)

JJ HB UserJJ HB UserJJ HB UserJJ HB UserJJ HB UserJJ HB UserJJ HB UserJJ HB UserJJ HB UserJJ HB UserJJ HB User