It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

High Cholesterol Message Board

• info please?

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 07-23-2005, 05:28 AM   #1
    starsofglass
    Senior Veteran
    (female)

starsofglass HB User
    Question info please?

I'm a newbie where cholesterol is concerned... I have some questions.

I know about LDL and HDL, but what are triglycerides? What do they do? How do these get elevated?

I've read that eliminating carbs can lower cholesterol. I never heard that before. How does this work exactly?
    How about eggs? How do they influence LDL and HDL?

My stats: 22y/o woman. My cholesterol is supposedly too high.
    Total cholesterol: 195
    HDL: 77
    LDL: 100
    Trigl.: 90

These seem excellent to me, no? In any case, I'm not at all worried, just curious.
    A little math: 195 minus 77 minus 100 = 18. What kind of cholesterol is this?

Is the HDL/LDL ratio all that matters? Or is high LDL, no matter what the ratio, always a concern? And how about extremely high total cholesterol, but normal LDL?

I've also heard that the "allowed" levels of cholesterol have decreased significantly over the last few years. My parents remember that 10 years ago 300 was the limit, not 190...

Thanx for your answers...

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 07-23-2005, 07:07 AM   #2
    ARIZONA73
    Senior Veteran
    (male)

ARIZONA73 HB UserARIZONA73 HB UserARIZONA73 HB UserARIZONA73 HB User
    Re: info please?

You certainly don't have anything to worry about, because overall your numbers are excellent. I believe that ratios are far more important than a single cholesterol number. As a general rule of thumb, use this guide to determine how well balanced your lipid profile is:

TC/HDL.....ratio should be 4.0 or less. Yours is 2.53

LDL/HDL....ratio should be 2.5 or less. Yours is 1.30