It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

High Cholesterol Message Board

• Don't want to be on statins

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 12-01-2006, 11:22 PM   #1
    chestersmom
    (female)

chestersmom HB User
    Angry Don't want to be on statins

Have been reading this board for several weeks--everysince my doctor put me on Zocor about 6 wks. ago. I have had high cholesterol (250 - 300) for probably some 15 yrs. Don't know why after all that time I'm just now being put on meds. As of this week I have had a stroke screening that checks for plaque buildup in carotid artery and in lower extremities. If all goes well (test results in 3 weeks) it would seem to me that I would not need statins. If nothing is wrong after all these years of high cholesterol, it makes me think they are unnecessary. I am 67 yrs. old and in great health other than the cholesterol problem. I am new to this so if anyone has any thoughts, I'd like to hear them. I just have a bad feeling about this drug. My latest chol. test showed total of 305, triglicirides 205, hdh 5l and ldl 205. I know this is high but as stated they have been for years. When my husband was alive his chol. was always below 200 and we always ate at home so diet is not a factor. In fact I cut my saturated fat way down before I started the med. and my total after 2 mo. was actually higher. ?????????

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 12-01-2006, 11:58 PM   #2
    NHone
    Senior Veteran
    (male)

NHone HB User
    Re: Don't want to be on statins