It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

High Cholesterol Message Board

Cholesterol 300!

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-31-2014, 09:46 AM   #1
Vincent11
(male)

Vincent11 HB User
Red face Cholesterol 300!

I'm a fan of paleo and low(ish) carb but I'm nowhere near strict. I generally watch my carbs but been known to cheat with high glycemic carbs frequently. I made an intro post which I don't think is up yet since I'm a newb but if/when it posts, I'll link it. It has a bit more general info.

All through the long Winter, my activity levels dropped drastically. I had been taking long, brisk walks every day until it got cold and then I dropped to near-nothing couch potato. Every day that's been above freezing, I've gotten back out to walk but that's only VERY recently in New England.

Mid-January test:
I had not fasted completely--I had coffee with a tablespoon of grass-fed butter an hour before.
Total: 272
HDL: 46
LDL: 211
Trig: 76
All other factors were easily within normal ranges. My blood pressure always tests on the low end of a healthy range. Blood sugar was 95.

I tried to improve my diet but not drastically. Been making low-carb hot chocolates to satisfy dessert cravings using dark Hershey's cocoa but still cheated several times a week with high glycemic carbs.

Late March test:
Total: 300
HDL: 55
LDL: 228
Trig: 84

Lipitor arrived in the mail (40 mg/day) along with the results above. This time they sent no other info than what's above. I'm a bit stunned and scared.