It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

High & Low Blood Pressure Message Board

• Fit 20yrld:Can my systolic be high simply because I hate the process of testing?

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 05-27-2008, 04:36 PM   #1
    noty
    (male)

noty HB User
    Fit 20yrld:Can my systolic be high simply because I hate the process of testing?

I'm a 20yrld male, 5'8, around 135lbs. I walk or bike ride at least 8 miles everyday, because I have no car, and I've been doing so for the last 10 years of my life. I can easily run a sub-6 minute mile, etc. So the weird thing is that I have very nice diastolic blood pressure, around 65, but my systolic pressure keeps coming up at around the high 120's or low 130's. I know that this is not very bad at all compared to some people, but the way I look at it, I consider myself to be a very fit and healthy 20yrld, so I would expect my blood pressure to be one of the best, not merely "not the worst."

Now, I really dislike having my blood pressure taken. This is not a case of "white coat hypertension;" I simply hate the feeling of pressure on my arm and my pulse throbbing underneath, whether a doctor is in the vicinity or not. This is not something that makes me panic or have great anxiety, it's just a big dislike that causes me to tense and want to squirm. So is it at all possible that my elevated systolic is the result of this tension that is present whenever I feel the cuff tighten on my arm? Would the systolic be more affected by such a thing than the diastolic?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 05-28-2008, 07:20 AM   #2
    flowergirl2day
    Senior Veteran
    (female)

flowergirl2day HB Userflowergirl2day HB Userflowergirl2day HB Userflowergirl2day HB Userflowergirl2day HB Userflowergirl2day HB User
    Re: Fit 20yrld:Can my systolic be high simply because I hate the process of testing?

Hi,