It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

High & Low Blood Pressure Message Board

• My Experience with Tekturna HCT

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 08-10-2008, 10:27 AM   #1
    shane32
    (male)

shane32 HB User
    My Experience with Tekturna HCT

Hi, this is my first time to post here. I was diagnosed with HBP 5 years ago when I was 31, otherwise am healthy, in shape etc. The doctor prescribed Lisinopril 40mg & a diuretic. Every year when I went back to the doctor BP was fine & I really didn't experience any side effects. This year I moved & had to go to a new doctor in July to get my prescription. He told there me was this great new drug out called Tekturna & it was much better than Lisinopril. Said Lisinopril relaxed the blood vessels after they were already constricted, whereas Tekturna worked much earlier in the chemical process to keep vessels from constricting in the first place. He didn't refill the Lisinopril & instead gave me a month's worth of Tekturna samples.
    What a disaster! BP went up instead of down, plus I felt terrible while taking this, i.e. severe indigestion, aching muscles etc. It also messed up my heartrate, alternating between very fast & very slow. By day 8 I'd had enough, went back to Dr.. BP was 180/120. He added a drug called Azor, Buspar for anxiety (I'd never had anxiety till I went to see this guy!) & told me to come back in a couple days & he would add a Beta Blocker. Enough was enough, I went to another Dr., told him the situation, he put me back on the Lisinopril, said I should've been left on it. Also told me that his office had not given out any Tekturna samples, nor prescribed it yet, were waiting for more feedback.