It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Hormone Problems Message Board

• Low testosterone, slightly high Ferritin problem

• Post New Thread   Reply Reply
    Old 11-25-2013, 02:13 PM   #1
    sovr
    (male)

sovr HB User
    Unhappy Low testosterone, slightly high Ferritin problem

Hello everyone! I just joined the forums with a bit of a mystery I have been battling for around 4-6 months now. I started by going to the doctors because I had slight shortness of breath around 4 months ago and he did breathing tests and said my lungs were functioning properly! So he then told me to do a blood test, which I did and got low testosterone! My doctor told me to go to an endocrinologist for further help. During a month period I did two more blood tests that showed the same results of low testosterone along with slightly high ferritin along with low vitamin D.

The endocrinologist gave me vitamin D supplements for 3 months (into the second month) and helped me a lot with some of the symptoms. The thing is I have normal good ranges for iron, but slightly high level of Ferritin levels. I know that Ferritin is the protein that stored iron in organs and that avoiding iron based foods along with some blood donating is a good solution. The thing is, could it be cushing disease? I got my pituitary gland checked in MRI and things looked good! I also got an ultrasound of the testicles to see if anything is going on there and that scan seemed all good too! I do not feel anything out of the norm on my testicles other then some minor varicoele on my left testicle.

here are the blood test results (most current):

PSA: 0.52 ng/ml
    Ferritin: 356ng/ml (23-265 ng/dl) HIGH
    Free testosterone: 38 pg/ml (49-212 pg/ml) LOW
    Iron sat: 36.6% (20-50%)
    Iron: 100 (45-160 mcg/dl)
    TIBC: 273 (205-380 mcg/dl)
    sec hormone bind glob: 9 (10-80 nmol/L) LOW
    Testostrone total: 119 (400-1080 ng/dl) LOW!