It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Human Papillomavirus (HPV) Message Board

• Abnormal Pap Smear, Dysplasia and HPV

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 05-21-2007, 03:54 PM   #1
    Leah007
    (female)

Leah007 HB User
    Post Abnormal Pap Smear, Dysplasia and HPV

Hello. I am new to the Health Boards and wanted to share my story and inquire about some information. I aploogize in advance for such a long post. I'm 32 years old and had normal pap smears until now. About last week I received a call from my OB/GYN stating that my recent pap smear came back abnormal with Dysplasia. He told me this was a low grade abnormal cell growth and nothing "to lose sleep over." I'm scheduled for a colposcopy in early June. When I heard about this news I was shocked and frightened! I've been spending that past several days reading all I can about Dysplasia. What concerns me the most right now is reading that HPV is the cause. Now I've read about HPV in the past manifesting as genital warts and being linked to cervical cancer. I've never had any warts. However, after further reading I've recently learned that genital warts is only one strain of HPV. This scares me because I must have HPV if I have Dysplasia. How could I have been so uninformed. With HPV being an STD, I wonder about my future sex life. I'm single and am not CURRENTLY sexually active, though I have been in the past. Does HPV clear up or not even with Dysplasia? Does this mean I will no longer be able to engage in sexual activity with a partner in the future? So on my next appointment I have several questions for the doctor. Any feedback on these matters would be greatly appreciated.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 05-22-2007, 12:16 AM   #2
    luzon
    (female)

luzon HB User
    Smile Re: Abnormal Pap Smear, Dysplasia and HPV

Leah ,