It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Inner Ear Disorders Message Board

• Doctor experienced with labyrinthitis/vestibular system issues in San Diego area?

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 04-28-2010, 06:26 PM   #1
    wil24
    (male)

wil24 HB User
    Doctor experienced with labyrinthitis/vestibular system issues in San Diego area?

Hi -- this is my first time posting, but I've read through quite a number of the posts on this board with great interest as they seem to pertain to my condition.

The crux of my problem is I think I've been suffering from de-compensating labyrinthitis or some other similar vestibular ailment for about a year and a half now, and have seen numerous doctors/neurologists about it, with no answers. My symptoms have been returning as of late and I would like to really get this diagnosed, but don't see any point to going to another doctor who doesn't seem to know anything about the topic. Can anyone recommend a doctor experienced with these sorts of issues in Southern California, preferably near San Diego?

To give you a bit of history: for over two years now, I've been suffering from repetitive strain in both my forearms. One symptom of this was a slight tingling and denervation in both my arms. After cycling through the medical system with this issue for a bit, I eventually saw doctor who recommended a blood test for a Vitamin deficiency. I went in, got the test and woke up the next day with an unsteady feeling. Not vertigo, not dizziness, but a sense that my equilibrium was off. This was joined within days by lethargy and fatigue and brain fog (general slowing of thinking, feeling overwhelmed while shopping etc.) as well as eye aches and eye headaches.

(The reason I mention the blood test, is that I have a suspicion that my condition is viral labyrinthitis caused by something passed during the test.)