It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Knee & Hip Problems Message Board

Found Out I have a Meniscus Tear

Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-07-2018, 08:49 PM   #1
missyou009
Senior Veteran
(female)

missyou009 HB User
Found Out I have a Meniscus Tear

A month ago (April 6), I was at work when one of my kids (I'm a preschool teacher) basically charged into me and made me stumble backwards about 12ft with them in my arms before falling. I had immediate pain, but I could still walk and everything...but I decided to go to urgent care anyway. They took x-rays, no bone damage, said to followup with orthopedist.

When I saw the orthopedist, he initially thought that it was an MCL sprain, so he put me in a brace, ordered PT and said come back in 4-6 weeks. Meanwhile, my knee didn't stop hurting, and I couldn't work...so I called again and got in to see the ortho a second time. This time he immediately ordered an MRI. Saw him today and he came in and said that the MRI showed a meniscus tear and that I would need surgery.

He said there are 2 surgical options, but he won't know which he'll do until he's in there (both are arthroscopic procedures)...and one sounds like nbd, and the other sounds like it would really suck. The one that sounds like nbd he said is what happens 95% of the time which is just that they shave the torn part off. The second one, the 5% chance involves an actual repair and that would keep me off my feet and out of work for 6 weeks...and I've already been out for 4. He also said that the shaving is better short-term, but the repair is better long-term, but he can't say which he'll do now because he needs to see the tissue and exactly what's going on before he decides.