It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Knee & Hip Problems Message Board

• Please Help me understand the results of a MRI of my left knee

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 03-29-2009, 04:29 AM   #1
    twina77
    (female)

twina77 HB User
    Question Please Help me understand the results of a MRI of my left knee

Hello everybody I need some help understanding my MRI results, let me give you a little bit of background first I am a 31 year old female who is not and has not been much of an exerciser since my high school days I am not over weight I am 5'4 and weigh 144 lbs. Back in January I got up out of bed and my knee was so stiff I couldnt even fully straighten my leg, I am a manager at a restaraunt and am on my feet a lot I just chalked it up to working too much after a few days of this I started to worry my Neice who is 2 years older than I was diagnosed with RA a year ago so I had my family Dr do the blood work for that it all came back negative. After 2 months of my knee like this I went back to my family Dr and asked for a MRI I knew something was wrong but didnt know what my left knee for the past 3 months was stiff and swollen and I still can not fully extend my leg when walking so I have a sort of limp and if I do happen to extend my leg the pain I experience is a nightmare, when I get out of bed or if I have sat for longer than 10 min I can not walk without the pain and stiffness. My Dr called and left me a message that stated " Your MRI showed there is some soft tissue damage I would now refer you to a orthopedic Dr here is the number" as you can imagine I am confused she did not give me any details. The following is what the report from my MRI states:

There is mild femorotibial chondrosis. There is chondromalacia patella, lateral facet, and apex.

Impression: Mild multifocal chondral damage. Remainder of knee intact.