It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Lasik Eye Surgery Message Board

• LASIK? PRK? ITR? Contacts?

• Post New Thread   Reply Reply
    Old 11-14-2017, 03:32 PM   #1
    Purplelobj
    (female)

Purplelobj HB User
    LASIK? PRK? ITR? Contacts?

I have been wearing contacts for 20 years.... And I am only 31. My vision is downright terrible without correction. I have decided to investigate getting LASIK and had consultations yesterday and today. Yesterday I was told I am a fantastic candidate when do I want to schedule? Today the doctor was not as optimistic. Apparently this clinic follows a PTA scale where they calculate the thickness of your cornea and how much tissue would be affected by the surgery. My left eye was right at their 40% cutoff but my right eye (non dominate) was 42%.

I was told my options are to under correct my right eye so it meets the 40% cutoff and he showed me what that would look like... I could still read the 20/20 letters but not the 20/15 letters. I could also consider PRK although they don't do it at that office. I could do an implant which I believe he said was called ITR. I could continue wearing contacts as I am now. Or I could say screw it and go to the other place and get LASIK in both eyes, PTA scale be damn.

My job depends on my vision and I am starting to think perhaps the risk is not worth it? Anyone have any stories or suggestions?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 11-20-2017, 04:05 PM   #2
    Purplelobj
    (female)

Purplelobj HB User
    Re: LASIK? PRK? ITR? Contacts?